Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
Oli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:00 am

Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Oli » Mon May 07, 2012 11:21 pm

Hi,

I would like to assign different horizontal axes (bottom, top, or both) to series. Using the example Welcome !\Chart styles\Statistical\Box-Plot, and assigning Series1 the bottom, Series2 the top and Series 3 both horizontal axes, series 1 and 2 will overlap. It seems that will happen only if one series is assigned to both axes. However, series are switched in position if horizontal axis is changed between bottom and top.

Oli

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Sandra » Tue May 08, 2012 9:41 am

Hello Oli,

I can not reproduce your problem using the sample of Demo Project Box-Plot and last maintenance release 4.1.2012.02280 TeeChart.Net. Could you please, send us a simple project where the problem occurs so we can try to solve it?

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Oli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Oli » Thu May 10, 2012 9:24 pm

Hi Sandra,

attached a project file demonstrating the problem. I have found other problems, such as changing line style of the Medianline in boxplots after saving/loading from binary format, and inverting the x axis. An old problem still persisting is the overlapping controls of the editor. I remember that on your machine you could reproduce it neither, and I am concern that something on my machines causes some weird behavior. I would appreciate if you can test the attached demo project, and see if you can reproduce similar behavior. I have attached pictures of what I see on my machine.

Thanks Oli
Attachments
BoxOnInvertedAxis.PNG
Inverted x axis
BoxOnInvertedAxis.PNG (46.2 KiB) Viewed 16597 times
BoxAssigningTopAxis.PNG
Assigning top axis
BoxAssigningTopAxis.PNG (40.03 KiB) Viewed 16576 times
TChartproject.zip
Demo
(222.55 KiB) Downloaded 639 times

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Sandra » Fri May 11, 2012 2:46 pm

Hello Oli,

Thanks for your project. Can you try to arrange a simple code without Dewresearch component, so we can reproduce exactly problem here and try to find a solution?

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Oli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Oli » Sat May 12, 2012 10:59 pm

Hi Sandra,

sorry for the implementation of the DewResearch component. Attached a demo project without DewResearch. Since I got the same effect with your demo program, I am getting concerns that some of the "strange" behavior is machine-specific. For example also the overlapping controls in the editor I reported some time ago. Below my computer configuration in case it helps to locate the problem:

Oli



Opertaing system
Name : Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (German version)
Platform : Win32NT
Edition : 6.1.7600.0
Directory : C:\Windows
Status : OK

Memory
Physical, total : 3220561920
Physical, available : 1456013312
Virtual, total : 2147352576
Virtual, available : 1751621632

Motherboard
Manufacturer : MICRO-STAR INT'L CO., LTD
Product : MS-1731
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6600 @ 2.20 Ghz
Status : OK

BIOS
Manufacturer : American Megatrends Inc.
Version : ?
Status : OK

Video Controller
Name : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330
Processor : ATI display adapter (0x9552)
Adapter RAM : 536870912
Status : OK

Screen
Width : 1600
Height : 900

Country, specific
Country : English (United States)
Keyboard ID : 1033
Attachments
tchartproject.zip
(226.33 KiB) Downloaded 649 times

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Sandra » Mon May 14, 2012 1:28 pm

Hello Oli,
1. Problem: Inverted x axis. If x axis gets inverted, the boxes become offset to the errorbars (whiskers).
Ok. I can reproduce your problem and I have added it in bug list report[TF02016181]. We will try to fix it for next maintenance releases of TeeChart.Net.
2. Problem: Save/Load in native binary teechart format Click "Save" Click "Load" Style of median line changes to dashed.
I have added this problem as a bug in bug list report with number [TF02016183]. We will try to fix it for next maintenance releases of TeeChart.Net.
3. Assigning a Series to top axis
Assign first series to top axis (through editor), and it will
disappear...at least on my machine
This is not a bug. If you assign a series to different axis, for default the scale of axis recalculate the values and set new values to Axis. In your case when you change the Horizaxis of one of your Bloxplot series, the minimum and maxim are 0 or have a different scale of Bottom Axis. For this reason I recommend you set the same scale for top axis and bottom axis as do in next line of code:

Code: Select all

boxplot1.HorizAxis = HorizontalAxis.Top;
tChart1.Axes.Bottom.SetMinMax(0, 2);
tChart1.Axes.Top.SetMinMax(0, 2);
If you want work with editor, you must change manually the minimum and maximum of axis.
4. Editor
Some controls overlapping each other
Can you tell me how we can reproduce this problem?

Thanks
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Oli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Oli » Fri May 18, 2012 9:40 am

Hi Sandra,

Thanks for fixing the bugs.

Regarding the editor, we have discussed it earlier at http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... oli#p56550
I have attached another screenshot of how the editor is display on my computer. I use the following code :

Dim editor1 As Steema.TeeChart.Editor = New Steema.TeeChart.Editor(tChartBoxPlot)
editor1.Width = Convert.ToInt32(800)
editor1.Height = Convert.ToInt32(500)
editor1.ShowModal()


It could possibly be a computer-specific problem, and I will change to a new computer next month. I keep you updated if this problem persist on the new computer.

Cheers
Oliver
Attachments
Editor_OverlappingControls.PNG
Editor_OverlappingControls.PNG (63.8 KiB) Viewed 16529 times

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Sandra » Mon May 21, 2012 10:44 am

Hello Oli,

As I said in the thread we cannot reproduce your problem here with our machines and using your code I have gotten next results:
EditorSize.jpg
EditorSize.jpg (62.2 KiB) Viewed 16518 times
When you have made the test with other machine, please tell us the results.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Oli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Oli » Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:23 am

Hi Sandra,

that is an older post regarding the editor. On my new machine the editor looks just fine, so it was a machine-specific problem. However, I could not figure out how to solve it on my old machine. Just for your information.

Oli

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9534
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Yeray » Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:14 am

Hi Oli,

It could be something related to the machine's resolution and/or the font size. Have you tried changing it?
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Oli
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Oli » Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:28 pm

Hi Yeray,

I think I changed the screen resolution but without solving the problem...sorry it ís now a couple of months ago. It is not a problem for me as I designed my own editor. Not because of the problem I encountered, but simply I did not require all the settings and options in the editor and there are too many levels of tabs in the Steema editor. However, I understand that you want to implement many controls in your editor to serve many users with this features, and it simply requires multiple levels of tabs. I just wanted it better designed to my application, so I did my own editor.

Cheers
Oli

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Series: Assigning different horizontal axis

Post by Sandra » Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:05 am

Hi Oli,

Many thanks for information. :D

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply