Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

TeeChart FireMonkey (Windows,OSX,iOS & Android) for Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder (XE5+)
Post Reply
realsol
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:00 am

Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

Post by realsol » Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:27 pm

I had labels turned on my Pie chart, but didn't like the look a few days ago, so I shut them off. But now that I know I can't scroll the Legend if slices are cut off in the Legend, I figured I would give the user the choice of turning them on or off.

But now, the only way I can get labels to show is in design mode when I set the chart to Random rather than the database. Once I choose Database, set my values and run the application, labels never come back on.

2 part question. Can you reproduce this using a database on your side? How can I implement turning on and off labels in code? Maybe it has something to do with the saving of the properties in design mode.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8650
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

Post by Yeray » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:26 am

Hello,

I can connect a database to a TPieSeries in a TDBChart and toggle the marks visibility normally.
See the test project attached:
testFMXDatasource.zip
(1.87 KiB) Downloaded 131 times
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

realsol
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

Post by realsol » Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:44 pm

The DB is encrypted. Could I get the conditionals, please?

realsol
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

Post by realsol » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:33 pm

I figured out why this is happening. I make changes to the Master View, but they are not being honored in the Windows or the OSX view unless I make the changes there too.

I made a mistake when originally creating the app. I have always used a DataModule in all of my programs with Datasets. But I couldn't figure out how to do this when I start coding in Berlin, so my main form holds all datasets. I have had a problem in the past where I deactivate a Query in design mode, but it stays active in the Windows and OSX views.

This is kind of what is happening here and I don't know how to fix it other than going to each view and making the same changes I have made in the Master View if they aren't being honored in the other views.

I had to make marks visible and adjust the callouts for all 3 views. This isn't right. How can I somehow make the Windows and OSX desktop views honor changes I make to the chart in the Master View?

realsol
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:00 am

Re: Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

Post by realsol » Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:19 pm

I read this on Embarcadero's site. Hope it helps.
Restoring the Property Values of a Component from Master

To restore the property values from the Master view on a component of another view:
Select the candidate view from the View Selector.
On the Form Designer, right-click the target component.
Select Revert to Inherited from the context menu.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8650
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Labels missing from Pie Chart with version .20

Post by Yeray » Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:24 am

Hello,
realsol wrote:The DB is encrypted. Could I get the conditionals, please?
"TeeChart Pro Database" has blank user and password.

I'm glad to hear you found the root of the problem and how to solve it!
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply