XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

TeeChart FireMonkey (Windows,OSX,iOS & Android) for Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder (XE5+)
Post Reply
dolson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 12:00 am

XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

Post by dolson » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:44 pm

If a TeeChart component that is on a hidden page of a tab control becomes active but using the TabControl's "SetActiveTabWithTransition" with "TTabTransition.Slide".

Using the attached demo, make sure "TabItem1" is the selected tab at design-time; Run the app; click "Button2" to active "TabItem2" with the "Slide" animation; The App will hang.

If the "Chart1" is made visible by either setting "TabItem2" as selected at design-time, or by clicking "TabItem2" directly at run-time, then the "slide" transition will work (won't hang the app) from then on.

I have an Mobile (iOS) app that was developed on XE3 that has multiple TeeChart components on pages of TabControls that use the slide transition to move between the tabs/pages. I converted/upgraded this project to XE4, XE5, and then to XE6 with no problems.

In hindsight, I've always noticed a curious pause (1 to 2 secs) the *first* time a page with a TeeChart component is "slide" animated in - it's been there since the first version using XE3.
Attachments
TeeChartErrorXE7.zip
Simple project that quickly shows the hang behavior.
(58.48 KiB) Downloaded 318 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

Post by Yeray » Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:21 pm

Hello,

I could reproduce the problem and we're investigating it.
We'll be back to you here asap.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

Post by Yeray » Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:39 am

Hi,

I've reproduced the problem and I've seen the error is a bit different with the actual sources we use here. I've added a ticket to the public tracker you can follow:
http://bugs.teechart.net/show_bug.cgi?id=974
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

Post by Yeray » Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:37 pm

Hi again,
Just to let you know we just fixed it in the internal sources we have here so the next maintenance release should allow you to do this without problems.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

dolson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 12:00 am

Re: XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

Post by dolson » Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:58 pm

Excellent! Thank you for your attention to this. Could you give me a rough guess as to when that maintenance release will be available?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8737
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: XE7: TChart on FMX TabControl hangs using "slide" animation

Post by Yeray » Mon Nov 03, 2014 10:17 am

Hello,
dolson wrote:Could you give me a rough guess as to when that maintenance release will be available?
I'm afraid I can't tell you this.
However, I see you are a source code customer so I'll send a link to the latest beta sources to the mail account you have registered in this forum.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply