TeeChart Freezes With a Certain Dataset

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
LAL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:00 am

TeeChart Freezes With a Certain Dataset

Post by LAL » Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:51 pm

Dear Steema,

The attached dataset is giving me problems in TeeChart v8.0.1.1 on an MFC application dialog built in VS2010. It appears to be related to the "Elevation" series, but I can't figure out what exactly the problem is.

Things I know:

1) My chart dialog freezes when opening, seemingly entering a non-terminating loop somewhere within TeeChart.
2) If I break into the loop my call stack says:

Code: Select all

 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e047d03() 	
 	[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for TeeChart8.ocx]	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e048779() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e048a6c() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e04cefe() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e04ce60() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e04d043() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e05715c() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e057670() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e03ca68() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e03c80d() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e03cac2() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e014871() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e0106e4() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e010bb0() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e014809() 	
 	TeeChart8.ocx!0e00d4c7() 	
>	mfc100d.dll!HashKey<CWnd *>(CWnd * key)  Line 163 + 0xf bytes	C++
 	mfc100d.dll!CMap<CWnd *,CWnd *,CHwndRenderTarget *,CHwndRenderTarget *>::GetAssocAt(CWnd * key, unsigned int & nHashBucket, unsigned int & nHashValue)  Line 1537 + 0x9 bytes	C++
 	mfc100d.dll!CMap<CWnd *,CWnd *,CHwndRenderTarget *,CHwndRenderTarget *>::Lookup(CWnd * key, CHwndRenderTarget * & rValue)  Line 1559 + 0x14 bytes	C++
3) When displaying, the dialog gets to "OnBeforeDrawChart", but not to "OnBeforeDrawAxes" or "OnBeforeDrawSeries".
4) The "Elevation" series is normally displayed when the dialog opens. If I set this series inactive initially, the dialog displays OK, but will freeze if I try to turn the "Elevation" series back on.
5) If I edit the data and set the "Elevation" Y values to a small (non-zero) number (e.g. 0.01) the dialog displays OK. This suggests it might be some sort of maths related problem where zero is an issue (log(0))?
6) If I try to replicate the problem by loading the tee file in a simpler environment (VB6), the chart displays OK.

I'm at a loss as to how to debug this further - any suggestions?
Attachments
problem.zip
Problem Dataset
(2 KiB) Downloaded 765 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TeeChart Freezes With a Certain Dataset

Post by Yeray » Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:31 pm

Hello LVL,

Excuse us for the delayed reply here.

I could load your tee file without noticing any problem in a VC++ Visual Studio 2010 application using TeeChart ActiveX v8.0.1.1.
I'm actually using the "Dragging Points" example adding the following include:

Code: Select all

#include "Import.cpp"
And the following code in the end of the OnInitDialog to load your tee file and set the "Elevation" series visible:

Code: Select all

	m_ctrlChart.ClearChart();
	m_ctrlChart.GetImport().LoadFromFile("C:\\tmp\\problem.tee");
	m_ctrlChart.Series(1).SetActive(true);
If you still have problems with it, please try to arrange a simple example project we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here.
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

LAL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:00 am

Re: TeeChart Freezes With a Certain Dataset

Post by LAL » Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:01 am

Hi Yeray - similarly, I can use that example with no problems. I can't seem to replicate the problem in a simple(r) solutiuon.

How likely is it that upgrading to the 2011 version will fix my problem? Is there a change list somewhere?

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TeeChart Freezes With a Certain Dataset

Post by Yeray » Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:51 pm

Hello LVL,

Take a look at the ActiveX and VCL release.txt files. Note the ActiveX version is a wrapper from the VCL version so the changes on the VCL version also apply to the ActiveX version.

I'd suggest you to try the evaluation version to check if the behaviour changes with it.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply